In 2014, the Norwich Heritage Groups, spearheaded by the Norwich Historical Society, began working towards an exhibit showcasing Norwich’s rich history and opening the Norwich Heritage and Regional Visitors’ Center in the 1783 Dr. Both projects were completed in 2015 and can be enjoyed by the public.
The Leffingwell House Historic Museum, built in 1675 by Stephen Backus and sold to Thomas Leffingwell in 1700, shows the architectural development from a 17th-century pre-Revolutionary tavern into a mid-18th-century townhouse.
A public address system is available for speech reinforcement, and an induction loop fitted for those with hearing difficulties.
The picture is thought to be one of the last portraits of Admiral Lord Nelson, painted in 1802, three years before Nelson died.Blackfriars' Hall can accommodate up to 200 diners for a formal banquet, or for a wedding ceremony and reception, concert or meeting.At the east end is a raised stage and for smaller events the hall can be realigned with a smaller stage on the north side to create a more intimate atmosphere.These groups are collaborating in order to promote events focusing on Norwich’s Heritage and promote tourism within Norwich.The mission of the Norwich Heritage Groups is to promote heritage tourism in Norwich and build awareness of the many rich cultural landmarks in Norwich, CT.